Homemade Scented Laundry Fabric Softner Crystals

Standard

I LOVE Downy Unstoppables. They make our clothes smells AMAZING. There’s only three minor problems:

1. They are insanely expensive

2. The girls and I are pretty much allergic to any and all fragrances.

3. They are full of all sorts of junk.

 

Because of the whole allergic issue before I started making my own detergent I used a “free and clear” detergent. Which was rather boring and made my clothes smell like nothing. My homemade detergent doesn’t really have a scent either…enter this dandy little recipe I found on Pinterest. I’ve been making these for a couple of months now and I love them.

Homemade Downey Unstoppables

Homemade Scented Laundry Fabric Softener Crystals

Stuff you need:

– Epsom Salt (or Ice Cream Salt or Coarse Sea Salt)

– Your favorite essential oil (I’ve made batches of Lemongrass and Orange–they both came out amazing.)

– Something to stir or blend with (I just use a fork)

– An airtight container and scoop. (I use an old formula container and it’s scoop)

– A bowl for mixing. (I just use the container I’m storing it in)

 

Directions:

Pour salt (as much as you want to make–I used about 2lbs. the last time). Drop in 20-30 drops of your favorite essential oil (more or less depending on your preference). Stir (or use a handheld blender a few pulses). Store in air tight container until use. I have an HE machine and I use two small scoops (about 2 tbs.) per load right into the drum of the washing machine. It’s not overpowering scent but it leaves a little refreshing scent.

 

 

Leave a Reply

